Black Friday is Dying: An Opinion Piece

Well said!

Retail Survival Guide

First and foremost, my sympathies to all of you forced to work with the public this weekend: Keep your heads up, it will all be over sooner than you think.

Reflecting on my first 4 day Thanksgiving/Black Friday weekend in 8 years, I’ve found that I have a lot of bitterness towards the way companies are running their sales this year. One of my main issues is that shoppers only see the hours that a store is open, not the preparation that goes into these sales. And who do you think has to be there hours before the opening time to set up?

Black Friday: 8 Years Ago vs. Now

saleWhen I first started in retail we were open on Friday from 5 a.m. until midnight. Each year I volunteered for the 5 a.m. shift because time flies in those early morning hours. In preparation, associates came in as early as…

View original post 880 more words

Leave a Reply

