Another throwback blog from the beginning of 2010.

Another throwback blog from the beginning of 2010

16/1/10

Hello, Jambo, Hola, Oliotia.
My name is Andrea Bernadette Reyes and I am the new Director of Product
Development in Uganda. I am here to serve all of your fashion, creative, aesthetically pleasing needs. Now where to begin? How about somewhere in the beginning?
Maybe not the very beginning. I began my journey in Africa 2 ½ years ago.. I was living in New York City. I was in-between apartments, finished my first degree at the Fashion Institute of Technology studying pattern making and was sick of my desk job. With those variables there is unusually never a better time to drop everything
and leave for a new land.

I wanted to do something selfless. I wanted to do something adventurous. I was newly 21 years old and didn’t want to feel 30 any longer. So I dropped everything and went to Mukono, Uganda. Those 6 weeks changed my life forever. It was a world wind of teaching at an orphanage, visiting Rwanda and Gulu, seeing Chimpanzee
Island, Rafting down the Nile, and making amazing connections with Uganda’s and
with people all around the world.

I returned energized, passionate, a little angry, and with a plan.
Forwarding 2 ½ years later. I have completed my 2nd degree in International Trade
and Marketing from The Fashion Institute of Technology where I concentrated on
importing products into the United States from Eastern African. Products that are
made of secondhand materials and transformed into beautiful items. I am armed
with the knowledge of living in Africa, traveled to multiple countries, having my big
sister by my side and the fashion education that I began at age 5.

Now the real journey begins. I am ready. Bring on the heat. Bring on the creative
juices. I am ready for the tailors and all of the challenges and joys that come along
with managing a workshop. I am ready for it all. How can I not? This is what I’ve
been prepared for my whole life. This is my destiny…. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXj-FsHirlI

Leave a Reply

